Measurements Taken: Now, My Big “Why”

I can see I need to re-spawn. After a lot of garbage intake and countless excuses I’ve made, I’m not doing myself any favors.

Part of Nerd Fitness’ philosophy is finding your big why.

As in, “why do you want to lose weight”? They suggest going “three levels deep” (asking “why” after writing/typing a sentence to get to a root or THE root of it). This was actually really difficult to write.

Here’s what I have:

I don’t want to be held back by physical limitations of my body; I want to be more physically active and look better.

Why?

I want to be able to do all the things most people can do without having to worry about how I’ll look sweating/huffing and puffing (not to mention worrying about how gross I look in certain clothes).

Why?

Because it’s embarrassing for me and especially disappointing to myself.

Why?

I want to prove to myself I’m more capable of just existing through life: I can accomplish my dreams and goals. If I can do this, I can do any-fucking-thing.

Leave a Reply

