HDL, Weight and Asthma

HDL. It’s known as the “healthy” cholesterol; its counterpart, LDL or what many refer to as “lousy” cholesterol.

Although my triglycerides and LDL are always normal, my HDL is always low.

So, when my tests keep coming back with a low number for HDL (happening at least for the past few years), I kept asking any doctor that ordered the tests: should I be concerned?

And every, single time it’s “when you lose weight, it will go down”. Which is, of course, is answer for nearly everything when you’re obese and see a doctor.

Oh, your foot hurts where you fell down the stairs hurts and subsequently broke it? Just lose weight.

Your bells palsy is really bothering you and you’re concerned? Just lose weight.

As I mentioned in a previous post, I have a doctor who is now taking me seriously. She said high HDL might make me more likely to have heart disease and although losing weight does help, she says further testing will help determine if medication or worry is necessary at this time.

My personal research shows that people who are obese, such as myself, have lower HDL because of our metabolism. That makes sense. Doctor recommended exercising more.

For the past few weeks, I’ve lose some weight. This past week at my new job, however, I gained 1.50 pounds. It’s not from eating extra calories at work; I made damn sure my lunch was nutritious and satisfying!

The culprit, at least in my eyes, is my breathing treatments. I dare not take Prednisone. I think I’m past the point of no return with it. My AC1 shoots up at an all time high when I take it, which is a common side effect.

Hope everyone is having a great week!

 

Leave a Reply

